Tags

Mary said:  My soul magnifies the Lord, and my spirit rejoices in God my Saviour.

 

Mary’s God favours ordinary people.  It’s not that he doesn’t love the rich and famous too, but he’s not taken in by wealth or celebrity or status.  He seeks out the little people, the people with no pretensions.  He doesn’t go for airs and graces.

 

Think about all the people you would rather not know – God loves them.  I know you have good reasons for keeping clear of them, but God still loves them and seeks them out.  He wants them to turn their hearts to him.

 

Mary said:  My soul magnifies the Lord, and my spirit rejoices in God my Saviour.

 

God has asked an ordinary teenage girl to do something extraordinary for him.  She is going to be the mother of his son.  We may see teenage pregnancy as a problem, but this is something special.  A girl has said “Yes” to God with all the generosity of her heart.  And God will bless her richly – her name will never be forgotten.  People will ask for her prayers; they will honour her; they will see her as a role model.

 

And just because it happened once, two thousand years ago, doesn’t mean we can write it off as a single event.  God asks each one of us to bear his son.  God asks all of us to say “Yes”.  And God will bless us too.

 

This God can do anything.  He is strong and powerful, more so than any human being can imagine.  He makes things happen – we only have to ask.  Our best bet is to find out what he wants and to work with him.  He pours out love and forgiveness on all who turn to him, because that’s the kind of God he is.

 

Mary said:  My soul magnifies the Lord, and my spirit rejoices in God my Saviour.

 

This God turns things upside down.  He deposes rulers and kings; he wipes out presidents and dictators; all those who use power for their own ends, he removes.  Those who get too confident in controlling the lives of others – they had better watch out, because God is watching them.  And one day, they will fall from the perch. 

 

Mary said:  My soul magnifies the Lord, and my spirit rejoices in God my Saviour.

 

God says to ordinary people:  you are special to me, and I love you very much.  I am showering my gifts on you and you can do great things.  I will give you everything you need to work for me in my Kingdom and to build my Kingdom in this world.  You can do it.  I am telling you.  You will do amazing things in my name.

 

Mary said:  My soul magnifies the Lord, and my spirit rejoices in God my Saviour.

 

God wants those who are hungry to be fed.  That means the poor in Africa, those who are hungry because of drought, those who are hungry because of politics and economics.  It also means the homeless druggie who doesn’t care any more.  The deserving and the undeserving – there is enough for everyone.  And it’s not just bodies that need nutrition, but souls that need love, and spirits that need nurturing.  He wants them all to come to the banquet of the Kingdom of God – everyone is invited.  Us too.

 

Mary said:  My soul magnifies the Lord, and my spirit rejoices in God my Saviour.

 

Those who think they are rich he makes poor.  He wants a better balance in society.  In our world, the rich get richer and the poor stay poor, but that won’t do in God’s world.  In the Kingdom everyone has what they need.  Wealth isn’t used to win power or privileges.  The wealth of money and possessions is empty – you will find no satisfaction in it.  Money has its place, of course it does, but don’t set your heart upon it.

 

Mary said:  My soul magnifies the Lord, and my spirit rejoices in God my Saviour.

 

God cares about his people, the Jews.  He promised Abraham centuries ago, that he would be their God and they would be his people.  Now that promise has been extended to all those who follow him, those who say “Yes” as Mary did.  God will never let us down.

 

Mary said:  My soul magnifies the Lord, and my spirit rejoices in God my Saviour.Image

