Tags

Gentlelady Care is a support group in Stockton-on-Tees for women who have / have had breast cancer.  They would come to Elton church for a Carol Service when I was there, and it was a joy to receive them.  I wrote this for one of their Carol Services.

 

We come to watch with Mary,

The girl become a mother,

Watching over her sleeping child.

And we bring our relationships.

Those whom we love and who love us

And those whom we have lost.

And God tells us:

You are mine.  I love you.

 

We come with shepherds,

The ordinary people,

Bringing our every day lives,

The things we do, the things that give us pleasure,

The things that irritate and annoy.

And God tells us:

You are mine.  I love you.

 

We come with the wise men,

The ones with knowledge and expertise

And we offer our gifts,

Our own hard-won knowledge and insight,

The experience of life, of living and dying.

And God tells us:

You are mine.  I love you.

 

We come before our vulnerable God

Lying as a baby in the manger.

We come as our true selves,

Our masks stripped away

With our fears, our pain, our woundedness.

And God tells us:

You are mine.  I love you.

(c) Meg Gilley

