Tags

Another ‘psalm’ for our times.  This one picks up an old theme: God as my rock.

Image

 

You are my rock.

I will build my foundations on you.

 

If I run away

I shall surely stumble and fall.

 

When I walk in your way

My foot is sure, I am safe and secure.

 

When troubles oppress me,

You hold me up.

 

You are the strength

That never leaves me.

 

I rely on you.

I can trust in you utterly.

 

Nothing and no one else

Supports me like you do.

 

That is why I call on you now

When my certainties are frayed,

 

The horizon is lost in cloud

And the precipice is just a step away.

 

Save me, O Lord, and help me.

Bring me back to a place of safety.

 

But if I must endure the stony path,

Do not abandon me, but come alongside,

My fellow traveller on a rocky road.

