On the face of it, this appears to be a trivial problem, but it seems to be beyond the ability of BT to solve it.  Which is why I have resorted to writing to you.

 

On Monday 25 July, I contacted the BT helpline because I wanted to change the password on my email account, because passwords should be changed regularly and I have recently acquired a smartphone and want to receive emails on it, and the iphone wasn’t recognising the password.  Even when I followed through the procedures for changing passwords, the old password remained stuck.  The password had been there for some time, probably since BT-mail separated from Yahoo-mail, and the BT email account was supposed to tie up with the BT account. The call centre operative guided me once more through the procedures, which didn’t work, and she promised that her colleague would phone in half an hour to help me.  They didn’t.

 

On Tuesday 26 July, I phoned twice.  The first person asked me for my password and when I was indignant about this, asked how I expected her to sort the problem if I didn’t give her my password.  She said someone would call me in 24 hours.  The second person I spoke to said that someone would ring in 48 hours. I also had on-line chat with someone who promised that someone would call me Thursday 28 July, lunchtime.  They didn’t.  They didn’t.  They didn’t.

 

On Sat 30 July, someone tried to phone me at 9.40am, but I was in church working.  I spoke to Complaints at some point that day, twice I think.  Sayan promised that I would be called Sunday 31 July 2pm.  Alex from Complaints was very sorry no one from Tier 2 had phoned me back, but there was nothing he could do.

 

On Sunday 31 July, I was called, not early afternoon as promised, but by Shaswati from the Faults Team at 17.12.  She said that the call had been booked for 3.30-5.30. By this time, I was not at my desktop computer in the vicarage, but at my other home in Durham for my day off, so the problem couldn’t be resolved. I had explained my complicated living arrangements many times – I live in the vicarage when I’m working and at our own house for my day off.

 

On Monday 1 August Shuvam phoned at 19.37 and told me that the problem was 80% resolved.  All he needed was a code and he sent off an email to obtain the code. He said he would take ownership of the case and would be helping me.  He promised to call back next day.  I never heard from him again.

 

Tuesday 2 August 13.28, Iris phoned.  When she looked at my notes, she said that something had gone wrong yesterday, Shuvam’s email hadn’t got through and no code had been received. She promised to phone back on Thursday 12.30-2.00pm (as we were out all day on Wednesday).  I told her that I had a meeting at 2pm, so she needed to phone before then.

 

Thursday 4 August. The phone rang at 14.38.  I asked why they hadn’t called earlier as agreed, and she said her supervisor had told her to ring now.  I kept asking why, but didn’t get a reply.  I explained I was in a meeting, not at my desk, and couldn’t deal with it.  She promised to phone 18.30.  That call never came. 

 

All the way through, I have been reporting on each stage of the unfolding saga and my increasing frustration on Twitter (MegGilley1) and Facebook.  I have to say, the Twitter people have been no help at all.  They keep apologising and asking if the promised calls have come, but nothing more.  The Twitter Team said they noted that a call had been booked for Saturday 6 August – I didn’t know anything about this.  I am out from 7.00-15.00, so not convenient.  They told me they had sent an email asking for a quicker response.

 

For the most part, I have been able to use my email account, apart from today and yesterday, when it has not been possible to gain access.  I don’t know if this is related to my original problem or something quite different.

 

My complaint therefore is that:

  • My problem has not been resolved. All I want to do is to change the password on my account every now and then so that it doesn’t get hacked!
  • Promised arrangements for someone to phone me back have not been fulfilled – over and over again.
  • I discover that calls have been booked without my knowledge at times not convenient to me.
  • Sheer incompetence of staff: (i) asking for my password; (ii) Alex’s inability to do anything; (iii) failure to deal with the problem.

 

I have spent so much time trying to deal with this, waiting for people to answer my calls, waiting around for promised calls to take place.  It has put me under great stress.  There are better things to do in life, and I really can’t take this any more.

I have 4 years to go to retirement.  It would be a great inconvenience to have to change my email address because of changing providers.  But I don’t see any other way forward.  However, I do want the problem resolved before I go!

 

I have been writing this letter as I hang on the phone trying to reach BT Complaints again.  It is 22.13 and I have been on the phone 1 hr 32 minutes waiting for someone to answer.  I don’t think anybody will!

 

Can you please find someone within your organisation who can resolve this?

